Posted by: patdavila | October 27, 2009

Karmic mysql upgrade gotcha

I just upgraded my Ubuntu server to Karmic Koala and had an issue afterwards where mysql refused to start at bootup or when manually restarting it. I checked out my logs and found an error related to ’skip-bdb’. Normally when I upgrade my server I keep my configuration files untouched. Apparently the new version of mysql no longer supports BerkleyDB. So if you do keep your current mysql configuration files after upgrading comment out the following line in ‘/etc/mysql/my.cnf’:
#skip-bdb

Once you do that mysql should start up without any issue. Hope this saves you some grief.

Leave a Reply

Categories

