Posted by: patdavila | December 31, 2009

Happy 2010 and what I’d like to see happen

Happy New Year’s everyone! I hope 2010 is better than 2009 for you and your loved ones. Now that’s out of way I’d like to post some things that I’d like to see happen in the Linux world in the coming year. First I want to see Android to continue to challenge in the cell phone market. Make more people aware and sell lots of new Android based phones. Continue to challenge the iPhone. Competition is a good thing. It drives prices down and forces innovation. Verizon has done very well marketing the Droid in a very short amount of time. It’s pretty amazing what you can do with millions of dollars to advertise your products and generate buzz. Imagine what a similar campaign from someone like Dell would do for the Linux desktop? I’d like to see Netflix release a native Linux client for their streaming movie service. I know plenty of Linux users who are Netflix subscribers and can’t watch streaming movies like their Windows and Mac counterparts. Netflix could leverage what the Mono project is doing with their Moonlight implementation of Silverlight. A little good will goes a long way. I’d also like to see more Linux adoption in schools and in government. F/OSS is such a perfect solution for public institutions. It really is a no brainer. Finally I’d like to see Pulse Audio replaced by JACK as the default sound daemon in Linux (see my previous post). Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Categories

