Posted by: patdavila | March 5, 2010

Upgrading to a Nexus One

It’s been far too long since the last time I posted. I’ve been very busy but excuses are lame so I’ll just get on with things. I’ve had my G1 Android for almost a year now on T-mobile. I’ve really taken to Android and absolutely love the platform. The applications are great and I generally like the developer friendly approach Google has taken to help get applications into the marketplace. While I’ve enjoyed my time with the G1 it’s shortcomings are painfully obvious. First is the attrocious battery life. I’m lucky I can make it halfway through the day without having to recharge the battery. No standard 3.5mm audio jack is an annoyance. The biggest positive for the G1 is the slideout keyboard. It’s a decent “starter” Android phone but I’m ready to move on to one of the newer more powerful phones. A very nice TLLTS listener sent me a bricked white G1 that was basically brand new but would lockup when booting up. I tried every trick in the book to get into a terminal prompt or to boot into a recovery image. This thing was truely bricked. The only way to get it to work would be to replace the motherboard.So I decided to sell my old G1 along with this bricked G1. I found a guy down the Jersey shore who wanted a bricked white G1. He had a Mytouch3G that was in excellent condition and was willing to work out some sort of trade. So I traded the bricked G1 + $100 cash for the Mytouch3G. I then sold the Mytouch3G for $220 on Ebay. I did play with the Mytouch3G for a couple days and it’s generally a nice improvement over the G1. It definitely has better battery life than the G1 and not having a physical keyboard didn’t seem to bother me that much. Still the lack of a standard 3.5mm audio jack bothers me plus I want a newer phone that has a higher resolution screen and a beefier processor. My two main choices were the Motorola Droid or a Nexus One. I’ve played around with the Droid on several occassions and overall it’s very good device. The only negative would be switching over to Verizon on a more expensive plan than my current T-Mobile account which costs me $60 a month. Honestly I’m very happy with my current alotment of talk time. So I was seriously leaning towards the Nexus1 at this point. Anyone who’s used it seems to like it a lot. This past week Apple announced a lawsuit against HTC for 20 alleged patent violations. That basically sealed the deal for me and I placed my order for the Nexus1 shortly after selling the Mytouch3G on Ebay. I also plan to sell my G1 on Ebay next week. Expect to see a bunch of posts in the coming days as I put the Nexus1 through its paces. I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

