Posted by: patdavila | March 12, 2010

Tethering on Android without rooting

Every Android user would like to be be able to use their cell phone as a broadband modem. It’s a nice option to have if you can’t jump on a public access point. Most cell carriers say you shouldn’t be doing this and it will break the TOS agreement. You should be ok doing this as long as you don’t go too crazy that often. In order words don’t be downloading Linux distros or other large files. There are wireless tethering apps that let rooted Android phones connect to the phone via bluetooth or wifi. I’ve used these apps on my G1 running cyanogenmod with no ill affects. Reading the warranty of my new NexusOne it explicitly says that rooting the phone will void it. Considering I paid the full unlocked price for my Nexus One I think I don’t want to void the warranty at this point. So my tethering options are slightly diminished. The easiest way of doing this is using a program called proxoid on your Android phone. The main requirement is that you have the Android SDK installed and working on the machine you want to tether your phone to. You’ll also need to connect the usb data/charging cable to your computer. Make sure you have usb debugging checked off in your system settings on your phone. This article explains all tethering options (included rooted phones) and this How-To explains how to tether without rooting and using a proxy. This post was made on my laptop tethered to my Nexus One.

Responses

  1. Hey Pat, I just wanted to thank you for this post, I use this with my phone now, and have actually unrooted my phone to avoid voiding the warranty. The only issue I have is setting gnome to use a global proxy doesnt seem to work…..


Leave a Reply

Categories

