Posted by: patdavila | November 7, 2010

Installed Fedora 14 on my laptop

It’s been a while since I posted last and figured it was time for an update. This past week I installed the newly released 64 bit version of Fedora 14 on my Dell XPS 1330 laptop. I’ve had it running for a few days now and I have to say I’m liking it. It boots up pretty quick. Yum (the package manager) is much improved (speed and amount of software packages in their repositories). Everything seems quite stable and everything worked out of the box with no issues. The only negative with Fedora in general is they do not include any “non Free” software by default. This mean you have to go find a repository that contains these packages. Stuff to enable mp3, h264, wma/wmv and flash playback along with DVD decryption and closed hardware drivers. A bit of a pain but not a huge deal. It’s well documented how to get this stuff installed and its not a major chore. For now Fedora 14 stays on the laptop. It’s been a long time since I ran Fedora/Red Hat on one of my machines. Red Hat does a great service to the Linux community by providing a completely Free distribution of Linux for anyone to download and install on their computers. I recommend everyone check it out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

