Posted by: patdavila | October 6, 2011

Voting for Ron Paul

I plan on voting for Ron Paul in the upcoming Republican primary. While any of the current Republican candidates would be a massive improvement over President Obama I feel Ron Paul is head shoulders above the pack. First off the guy is not a career politician. He’s a trained and practicing medical doctor who’s been a congressman during three different stints totaling 24 years. Too many politicians have never worked a real job their entire lives. He knows our current system and what needs to change. He’s not afraid to go against his party if it’s the right thing to do. While I do not agree with many of his foreign policies I do agree with most of his stances on other issues. Right now this country needs Ron Paul. He’s for ending all foreign aid, especially to regimes that are outright hostile to us and bringing our troops home. This nation needs to regroup and get our house in order. Ron Paul is committed to protecting personal freedoms and limiting the overreaching powers of our government. Here’s a quick list of some of his stances (from his website):
He has never voted to raise taxes.
He has never voted for an unbalanced budget.
He has never voted for a federal restriction on gun ownership.
He has never voted to raise congressional pay.
He has never taken a government-paid junket.
He has never voted to increase the power of the executive branch.
He voted against the Patriot Act.
He voted against regulating the Internet.
He voted against the Iraq war.
He does not participate in the lucrative congressional pension program. He returns a portion of his annual congressional office budget to the U.S. treasury every year.

I recommend people read about Ron Paul and make an educated decision as to who they’re voting for. This next election is so important to our nation’s future. We need a president who will do what’s necessary to get us going in the right direction. I believe Ron Paul is that candidate.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ron_Paul
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_legislation_sponsored_by_Ron_Paul
http://www.ronpaul.org/
http://projects.washingtonpost.com/congress/members/P000583/key-votes/

Responses

  1. Hi Pat,

    Please treat me as a newbie as I am going to ask what may be a stupid question.

    My knowledge of American politics is extremely limited and obviously I don’t mean to disrespect your views and experiences.

    As a South African who lived under a very oppressive society, I am extremely grateful to all the people who supported our liberation struggle which resulted in the SA I live in today.

    My exposure to American politics has been what is shown on the news and what I download as entertainment like Colbert / John Stewart and Bill Maher on the one hand and the Fox news I get to see on the other.

    As a total outsider, it seems like Obama is half Republican anyway and the actual Republicans seem to be bad guys from a science fiction movie. They seem entrenched in protecting the wealth of the millionaires and screwing the middle class. The candidates that are most on the news have the strangest opinions and lack of respect for facts and seem to just point fingers at Obama without working together for your collective good.

    I have never seen such an obstructive government in action even during the Bush & Clinton years. The Democrats seem clueless and unable to knock together a plan of action, so I wonder what your options really are. I like what Ron Paul has said publicly about financial regulation and he seems largely ethical, but I believe he is part of a party that will ultimately ’cause even more damage to the lives of normal citizens.

    For all Obama’s faults (and they are mounting), I still think he genuinely has achieved more than he is given credit for.

    My question ultimately is this: If you are a traditional Republican voter, does the current actions, words and deeds still reflect the values on why you previously voted for them? In particular. Why is raising taxes or more control of guns a bad thing?

    I’m not saying banning guns or doubling taxes, but as an example, tighter control / documentation on gun ownership to help police identify stolen weapons or guns used in crimes as an example.

    With regard to the taxes. Large American companies (including the Oil industry) receive huge tax breaks and get subsidies from Govt. Why is this necessary? Why can’t they pay more tax?

    It seems that raising tax is a crime to Republicans. How can anyone in America support lowering taxes? It seems insane at this point.

    I don’t mean to disrepect your views as I respect them too much. I posted this purely to get a better understanding of a fellow nerd 😉

    Regards,
    Ian

  2. Ian,
    Obama is a liberal Democrat. His is not “half a republican”. Both Democrats and Republicans want the same thing. Peace, prosperity & happiness. Their approaches to this goal are very different. Generally modern Democrats want bigger government to pay for the many social programs they’re pushing. Republicans favor more of a laissez faire approach. Not all Republicans are rich. Many like myself are middle class. We’re not rich, we’re not poor. Obama has been pretty much a failure. The guy has no clue how to run a country. We’re in the middle of a pretty bad recession. 46 million Americans now live under the poverty line. The most ever. 1 in 6 of all Americans now get some sort of government handout. Unemployment is reported at 9.1%. Many people feel that number is underreported and in reality somewhere between 10-15%. Recently the U.S. credit rating was degraded to AA+. The lowest in 70 years. Generally raising taxes and spending money like drunken sailors at a whorehouse doesn’t improve economic conditions. Neither does printing money to point your currency has little value. His stimulus package has not generated any new jobs. Regarding gun control. Currently when you try to purchase a firearm you must pass a federal background check. All weapons are cataloged when sold by licensed dealers as per legal requirement. Honestly gun control is the least of our problems right now. I don’t understand your comment that Republicans “are like the bad guys from a science fiction movie”. Can you explain what exactly you mean by that?

    • Its 6am, so I’ll be brief and sorry if my thoughts are not as focussed as I’d like them to be at this point!

      Regarding the economy, I don’t believe their is any Govt out there who could have inherited such a position and not made mistakes. I don’t believe Obama is handling the debt properly with regard specifically to the war spending and the “Bush Tax Cuts” which sounds like it hurts the economy more than it stimulates. If I listen to the Republican candidates, they seem all in favour of maintaining the status quo, but adding further benefits to large companies. That doesn’t seem prudent.

      With regard to the jobs bill, I believe its early days. Most comments I’ve read are positive so I guess time will time.

      With regard to Healthcare, a lot of the rhetoric from the Reps felt like a media campaign meant to scare people into believing how it would make things worse for them. In the end, though, I can’t imagine what you had before was any better. I’m not an expert, but it looked you almost needed one of your kids to marry a Doctor to get care!

      Why I call Obama a half Rep is that if you look at his implementation of policy, he ends up compromising so miuch, the bills he passes have huge considerations for Republican views at the expense of his own. The 2 examples that I have seen mentioned are the Healthcare Bill & Jobs. Also he went into the job on the “change” hype, but the things he has changed did not include War spending & troop reduction.

      I guess my views are (mis) informed by Bill Maher and the 2 clowns at Comedy Central, so view my comments understanding in that light. I’m not seriously trying to argue, just enlighten myself 😉

      My bottom line is that I don’t get the sense that Ron Paul is like all the other Republican candidates. He seems more old school Republican. This new batch seem to be media whores.

      I honestly don’t know who I’d vote for in your situation though, but I’m glad that people still take it seriously and actually give a shit.

  3. Hey Pat,
    I agree. Although Ron Paul probably will not make the nomination, I think he can steer the debate for the better good. Eventually, I hope the media and the whole of america will hear what he advocates and stands for. Back in the day, I was a republican, but I have become wiser and now I am a classical liberal/libertarian. Check out Tom Woods (http://www.tomwoods.com/) for his support messages for Paul.

  4. Pat,
    I could not agree more. I voted for Paul in 2008 primary and will continue to support him. There are far too many Republicrats governing our country, many of whom appear to have never read the US Constitution and do not understand or respect the limited power the Federal Government is to have.

    Travis Bigrigg
    tmbigrigg on IRC
    Canton, Ohio

  5. I am a precinct caucus chairmen here in Iowa and will be supporting Ron Paul. It is interesting to me in that all the people I know who are more logical thinkers support Ron Paul while my more emotional friends are usually Democrats.
    Ian’s take on this as an outsider is very interesting and I suspect that quite a few Americans probably have the same opinion in that they only get news from a liberal view point.


Leave a Reply

Categories

